Tuesday, August 30, 2011

The Unknown: Red Hot Chili Peppers - Venus (Stadium Disc 3)

It's been a week now that I've had a chance to digest the new RHCP album.  I was a huge fan in the 80s and Blood Sugar Sex Magik years had everyone dancing.  But when Navarro joined the band they never recovered.  I always gave them a fair listen but nothing ever stuck...except Scar Tissue, which I had no choice but to absorb since it was played about 10 million times the year it came out.  Though Californication, By The Way, and Stadium had moments, none of them recaptured the electricity that BSSM bestowed upon us.  That is until now.  The new Chili Peppers album, I'm With You, is the best album since Blood Sugar.  Now, just know this...this is not the same band that made Blood Sugar.  This is the band that made the past three albums, only this time, it feels like they're finally comfortable in their radio rock skin.  Of course, maybe it's not them.  Maybe it's me.  Maybe I've finally just accepted the sound.  Either way, it's nice not to be disappointed.

Here is the Red Hot Chili Peppers - Stadium Arcadium: Venus (Disc 3):

1.  An Opening
2.  Million Miles of Water
3.  Whatever We Want
4.  Lately
5.  A Certain Someone
6.  Mercy Mercy
7.  Funny Face
8.  I'll Be Your Domino
9.  Save This Lady
10.  Joe
11.  Lyon 66.6.06
12.  Permutation

Buy the Chili Peppers new album, I'm with You.

1 comment:

ted john josh magliocco said...

He mate do you know if I can buy the cd of the venus or do I have to piece to tougher from bonus tracks on itunes. And I agree about the new album. And sorry about the ands if you like the new one if u haven't already give dot hacker a listen same sort of sound. All the best ted. Give us an email back @ ted.magliocco@gmail.com